Where have I been?!

I know you are asking yourselves where I’ve been for the past two weeks or so. Well, I’ve been here. It’s taken me a bit longer to get to new music. Even though I gave you all my top albums last time, I still have a ton of 2009 music to listen to. So that list could change. I know I would definitely add the Orange Peels and Bobby Emmett to my list, but not sure where. Anyways, I may be a bit slower getting these reviews out, but I’m still hanging around. Enjoy!

Orange Peels – 2020 – ***1/2 – Great to hear from the Orange Peels again, they specialize in summery, California pop, and this album brings that out in a big way.

Biffy Clyro – Only Revolutions – *** – Having just recently discovered this band, this album was just icing on the cake. Maybe not as good as the last, but it definitely has the heavy but melodic aspects that make them great.

The Tripwires – House To House – ***1/2 – Really awesome collection of songs from this band, the former Model Rocket really has a way of popping out with energy and style.

Murry Hammond – I Don’t Know Where I’m Going But I’m On My Way – *** – When I hear Murry come up on a Old 97′s song, I always like it, it adds a balance to the poppyness of Rhett Miller. So this solo album by Murry was great because it had his signature sound, but with a nice style of his own, very atmospheric and stark arrangements.

Bobby Emmett – Learning Love – **** – WOW! I had heard this was great, but hearing it myself, I know why people are crazy about this record. It is super energetic, rocky, poppy, everything. He was from the band The Sights, which I love, but this album is another sound and is just too good for words.

One Response

  1. bobby emmett? great? really? what am i missing, sounds like trash to me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

