It’s been a long long time.

I feel like I have left you all in the lurch. I just have been falling back on listening to new music. I have a ton in the queue, but I can’t get to it with all the other stuff I listen to. What’s that, you ask? Oh OK, since you asked… Recently I have been listening to old music I found on the Small Town Pleasures blog: http://smalltownpleasures.blogspot.com/ so that’s been a lot of fun. I know a lot of those bands, but hearing their full albums really puts it in perspective. I also get a ton of stuff from the Power Pop Criminals blog: http://powerpopcriminals.blogspot.com/ I listen to a ton of Podcasts, both music related and comedy related. For music, I listen to the Time Machine; Pop Garden Radio; Paste Culture Club; Coverville; Luxuriamusic.com shows like Come to the Sunshine and Pepperland Spicerack; WFMU’s Michael Shelley show. For comedy/general interest I listen to The Sound of Young America; Jordan, Jesse, Go!; Never Not Funny; The Best Show on WFMU; Wiretap. So if you get a chance, check those shows out! Now on the the reviews:

The Trews – No Time For Later – *** – Good continuation of The Trews solid rock sound. Not much different from their last album, just more examples of the sound they are comfortable with. I would love to see more of a mix of sound styles, like on some of their earlier records, but it is still a solid achievement.

The Leftovers – Eager To Please – ***1/2 – A fun, cool, solid rock ‘n roll album. Very garagey in parts, though not limited to it, adding some more elements of pop-punk and power pop.

Butterfly Boucher – Scary Fragile – ***1/2 – I loved her album Flutterby a lot, so it’s hard for me to say much negative about Butterfly Boucher, I think this album is just as good as that one, and adds some cool flourishes throughout, making it a nice package.

Uglifruit – Presents – *** – What it lacks in production value, it gains in style. A cool, interesting record. Using nice harmonies, and interesting soundscapes to create something cool. But it would also benefit from a full production.

Marizane – Cosmosis – *** – Very interesting record. Very atmospheric in parts, but not lacking in song structure. Overall enjoyable.

2 Responses

  1. Yes indeedo Butterfly Boucher is the best thing in music since the electric guitar. Buy Scary Fragile and Flutterby and hear for yourself

  2. I have just been pointed over here, and I’d like to say thanks for the review of my album ‘Presents’. I’m glad you enjoyed it – it was a crazy/fun month making it in every spare moment I had. (It was written and recorded in February for the RPM’09 challenge).

    Could I just add that the album is available to download, for free, from http://alonetone.com/uglifruit/playlists/uglifruit-presents

    All the best, and keep up the good work on your blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

