A thankful year – more reviews also and as well

Well, Thanksgiving is upon us, and as we gather around our families and celebrate the decimation of a race of people, we need to think back on all the things we are thankful for this year. And with so much change in the air, I think it’s clear who will be on our minds this year. Yes, that charismatic leader who has captured so many hearts. Though some may be resistant to change, it’s clear that a change needed to occur. Of course, I’m talking about the new format of Best Week Ever, with Paul F. Tompkins leading the way. Thank you VH1 for being so brave. OK music time.

Brett Dennen – Hope For The Hopeless – *** - I like Brett Dennen. He has a good voice, a nice style, and tuneful songs. I appreciate his propensity towards activism and helping the world. This album does a lot of all of that, and is enjoyable.

The Wellingtons – Heading North For The Winter – **** – A very fun album from this group, taking elements of both power pop and pop-punk, the band creates a powerful sound that starts hitting from the start and doesn’t stop. I can’t get enough of this record.

Vic Chesnutt & Elf Power – Dark Developments – *** – Dark, yet hopeful music from Vic Chesnutt, who I have heard a lot about, but never really got into his music, but when Elf Power gets involved, I pretty much have to pay attention. I liked this, his voice is not bad, and the more indie rock instrumentation, makes it less alt. country and more rounded.

The Yum Yums – Whatever Rhymes With Baby – ***1/2 – A really fun record, harkening back to bubblegum, but throwing in some pop-punk and just delivering song nugget after song nugget, about girls, bubblegum, and just rocking out.

Army Navy – Army Navy – *** – I quite liked this. I wasn’t sure I would, as I’m starting to get sick of these indie-rock bands, but the thing I like about Army Navy is that it has a good energy, and doesn’t seem to be trying too hard.

One Response

  1. thanks for the tip on The Wellingtons, I’m liking what I’m hearing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

