5 CD’s A Week – Fun Time Extravaganza!

Well, I bet you thought that I would nEVER post again. I guess I am too busy SINGing, DANCEing, and STEALing THINGS to post. But not to worry, it’s not like I got MARRIED or something. I do HAVE FEELINGS TOO! Well anyway, here is another ROSETTA stone of music reviews, that make as about much sense as the air in YOUR LUNGS. Hopefully these reviews will become STRONGER in the future. HEY you never know, you may find a JEWEL you have not heard of before. Stay cool people!

Mason Jennings – In The Ever – *** – Mason Jennings is always great. His songs evoke such an idea of having something important to say. You stop and listen to the lyrics often. Yet it still can be a fun and enjoyable record to listen to – music wise.

Jason Mraz – We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things – *** – Jason Mraz is someone who does the type of music he likes to do. You know he is passionate about every note sung, played, emoted, whatever. While some of the songs on this album are a bit over the top with emotions, it is still a good record to chill out to.

Martha Wainwright – I Know You’re Married, But I Have Feelings Too – ***1/2 – I love Martha Wainwright. Her music is so powerful, without being outlandish. She has so many feelings swimming in her head at any one time, and it is exciting to listen to her sing, because you never know where she will go next.

Hey Rosetta! – Into Your Lungs… – *** – I didn’t know a lot about this band going in, other than the record was produced by Hawksley Workman. This was enough to catch my attention, though, so I tried it out, I was pleasantly surprised. It is a record that is vibrant and interesting to explore. It made me feel very enthusiastic.

Jewel – Stronger Woman – ** – I feel embarrassed to be a Jewel fan sometimes. I feel bad, because she really did have some good records in the middle period. I struggle with her decisions to go into different directions. I hear her say that she wants to do this or that, but I often wonder if the reasons aren’t more economical. This album is her foray into pure country. I think she does a good job of carrying over some of the more folk-pop elements to country, but too often she falls into the modern country traps of oversentimentality. There are some great songs, but also some I hope to never hear again.

One Response

  1. A fine last line on the Jewel review.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

